EIRSAT-1 Space Art Challenge – Winning Entries

We were blown away by the level of engagement in our Space Art Challenge and we received over 320 individual student entries. Our judging panel consisted of the artists who created our Space Art tutorials, together with members of the EIRSAT-1 team in UCD. All judges selections were made anonymously, without sight of school or student information.

We wish to thank all involved in this project, in particular our project collaborators in the Science Department in UCD, and especially the EIRSAT-1 team. Thanks to our brilliant professional artists – Emer O Boyle, Jessica Erkal, Helen Robinson, Alan Nolan and Aidan Courtney. Thanks also go out to the school librarians and teachers in schools across the country who facilitated and encouraged student participation. And finally to the students themselves – thank you for sharing your creativity. You should be very proud.

Prizes have been awarded to the Winner, Runner-Up and one or more Highly Commended entries in each category. Some additional ‘Commended’ prizes have been awarded in the Junior Category – as there was a particularly high level of entries in this category.

Winning Entries

We are delighted to reveal the prize-winning entries in each category as follows:

Senior Category

Winner: Sarah Maguire, Trinity Comprehensive School, Ballymun, Dublin
Runner-Up: Keve Katona, Dungarvan College, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford.
Highly Commended: Caitlín McCarthy, Dungarvan College, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford.
Commended: Cillian O’Sullivan, St. Paul’s CBS, Brunswick St., N., Dublin
Commended: Zach Nocum, Holy Child Community School, Dublin

Junior Category

Winner: Ruslana Karmazina, Tallaght Community School, Dublin
Runner-Up: Adelina Coptu, Mount Carmel Secondary School, Dublin
Highly Commended: Pedro Alarco, St. Paul’s Community College, Waterford.
Highly Commended: Dorina Coptu, Mount Carmel Secondary School, Dublin
Commended: Caoimhe O’Toole, Beaufort College, Navan, Co. Meath.
Commended: Sarah Mooney, Castleblayney College, Monaghan
Commended: Skye O’Sullivan Byrne, Rosmini Community School, Dublin
Commended: Alexi Xanthea Mendez, Coláiste Chill Mhantáin, Wicklow

Special Needs Category

Winner: Saoirse Doyle, Rosmini Community School, Dublin
Runner-Up: Kris Jagielski, Dungarvan College, Dungarvan, Co. Waterford.
Highly Commended: Adam Wojcieszkiewicz, Selskar College, Wexford.
Highly Commended: Siocha Quinn, Holy Family School for the Deaf, Dublin

Congratulations to all of the very worthy winners. Prizes, including telescopes, space lego, moon lamps, books on space (including signed copies of ‘Dream Big’ by Dr. Niamh Shaw), art materials, EIRSAT-1 merchandise and more, have been dispatched to the winning schools.

Kathleen Moran Senior Librarian JCSP Library Project

Leave a Reply